To epidural or not to epidural!

Please understand that I am NOT any sort of medical professional. This piece is strictly opinion and experience based.

I’m mainly writing this for pregnant women who are trying to decide weather or not to get an epidural when the time comes for the birth of their child.

You will come across women who are adamant about not getting an epidural and how it’s going to give your baby a bad start at life. There are women who have had epidurals and swear by them, along with women who have had one and say terrible things about their entire experience. I m not any of those women.

I have had one child. And although I had an entirely natural, vaginal birth, it is NOT for everyone! Also, even if you make it part of your birthing plan to either have or not have an epidural, that does not mean things will go as planned.

If you walk into the hospital in pain, with amniotic fluid dripping down your legs and fully dilated… Guess what? No epidural for you! They will throw you in a room and get you started pushing. On the other hand, if you aren’t progressing (in the dilation area) yet your contractions are only one minute apart, you might catch yourself praying for the medicine you swore to never take to get you through the 28 hours of labor ahead of you.

THERE’S NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT!

In my opinion, you need to do what your body is telling you to do. Everyone has a point where the pain becomes overwhelming. That being said, I’ve never heard any woman say that every single one of their labor/births was exactly the same. Why do we think we have to plan every single aspect of every labor, then get upset if it doesn’t turn out as planned?

So long as your baby is healthy, and both parents are healthy, why not enjoy the beginning of your new babe’s life instead of making yourself sick worrying about this or that from labor. Squeeze that thing out, and snuggle it like crazy before they start walking and don’t want hugs anymore.

~Jord

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    With my first Daughter, I had a vaginal birth (naturally), no drugs. It went perfectly. With my second I was induced and the pain was incredible. I though because I could do it the first time, I could do it again. I had to have the epidural. Now having my third in 7 weeks, I am having a planned c-section, so I will have to have an epidural. I have learned that every pregnancy is different and so is every labor and birth.

    • 2

      I think that’s good for women to hear. Especially when expecting their delivery to be just like their first or like a story they’ve heard. We are so hard wired to have everything planned perfectly that we forget to listen to what our bodies or babies want or need.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

